“All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.” How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Few topics are more important than a child’s education, and the issue of a second language will probably always be controversial. From my side of the perspective, the benefit of being bilingual is priceless, no matter how hard it might be. The main privilege would appear to be the effect that it has on a child's intelligence. Especially in countries with growing populations such as the USA, where the public school system offers second language classes in French, Spanish and German, appears to be developing much further than the others. Besides those who are bilingual, tend to have improved memory, enhanced concentration and ability to multitask. A further advantage relates to employment opportunities, which can be extremely high if job providers seek a wise and worldly candidate. This means that the convenience of being fluent in other languages rises as time goes by, making it almost a necessity. A final point supporting this proposal is globalization, by which people communicate with fellow nations through language barriers. If this means the students are now obliged to invest in their communication skills and expand their knowledge by receiving information in an alternative language, this is surely a further essential factor which makes learning foreign language an upcoming priority. Admittedly, I agree with those who argue that simultaneous language learning can be confusing. However, this downside suffers significantly when confronted with a well-scheduled learning system. To summarize, it seems that globalization, the many cognitive benefits are undeniable.