Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment.

Almost all societies are concerned about the rate of crime and violation which makes them struggle with various ways in order to solve it somehow. It is believed that ways of punishing criminals should be the same for all offenders, while on the other hand there is a contrary view as it is not fair to have a fixed punishment.In this essay two points of view will be discussed. Fixed penalisation can bring benefits for society, such as decreasing the amount of budget which is spent on various sentences and also consuming less time to decide about a particular way for punishing. It can be accepted that the rate of committing a crime would decrease by this method. For instance, a shoplifter cannot tolerate the same punishment which is sentenced for a murderer too. The aim of punishing is just the decrease of lawlessness in society, and it is not the only factor that prevents criminals from committing. Sometimes people, in order to defend themselves or even others' lives, do something wrong unconsciously, which may result in a crime so psychological behaviour and the situation in which crime happened should not be ignored.. High level and low-level crime offenders are punished in the same way and it is against the law of human rights.There should be a difference between someone who commit murder and someone who steals others' property. To put it in conclusion, although there are some positive factors related to fixed punishment, human rights are prominent too moreover other factors such as situation,mental problems should be taken into consideration.