Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental problems should not be ignored as they affect all of us equally. A great number of people consider this to be a task much too complex for individuals to resolve on their own, while others view the government as incapable of dealing with this issue. I consider that both governments and citizens play a big role in putting a stop to pollution and other damaging behaviours. Many people may feel intimidated by the proportion that global warming has acquired in the recent decade. Due to this, they might think that there is little to do on their part. However, what may seem like an insignificant action to one person can actually have a huge positive impact on the environment. For example, recycling waste can make a big difference since it allows for certain containers and materials to reach a specialized facility where they can be reconditioned and reused. Just like this, many other small changes can be made from our side to stop the situation from getting worse. On the other hand, the government must guide people in the right direction. Of course, the authorities on their own can't solve such an issue. Nevertheless, they can work together with their citizens to change certain habits that are having a negative impact on the only planet we have. For instance, the government can create and reinforce environmental laws to motivate people to change harmful behaviour like littering and excessive carbon dioxide emissions. In conclusion, the deterioration of our natural surroundings is neither the individuals' nor the state's complete responsibility. My opinion is that an ideal solution would be for both parties to collaborate to make a change as soon as possible.