Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet for financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem?

The internet is mirroring the real world and dealing more and more with safety issues; this is extremely dangerous when we take into consideration that many users access their bank accounts online. There are two main things that can be done to prevent internet crimes related to money movements. First of all, users should be made aware of the dangers presented when making transactions. This can be done by launching an awareness campaign on mass media explaining to people which signs to look for when making an online purchase to ensure that they are dealing with a legitimate business. For example, they should pay close attention to the browsing bar, where one types the URL address of the website, to make sure that there is a lock icon on the left of the store's domain. Knowing the main signs of a fraudulent site can really make the difference and protect you from falling victim to an online scam. Another thing that can be done, but this time on behalf of the banks, is to develop a more sophisticated and complex mechanism for online transactions. For instance, they can analyze the site where the payment is being made and alert the user if it's suspicious or require an extra verification step before approving the payment. More so, this can guarantee the users and the bank's safety. In conclusion, online shopping involves a series of dangers that can be minimized through different actions. Aware users and banking institutions must take extra steps to guarantee their money don't end in the wrong place, such as paying extra attention to signs of an unsafe online store and verifying its authenticity.