Some people think learning painting and drawing at school is a waste of time while others think it is important. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Art lessons are included in the curriculum of many schools because educators believe that drawing and other related activities can considerably contribute to children ’s development. However, this approach often draws a great deal of criticism from people who argue that arts and crafts should only be treated as extracurricular activities. On the one hand, there are plausible arguments in favour of teaching art in schools. Firstly, these lessons are likely to reveal hidden talents and evoke creativity in many children. Furthermore, by learning how to draw and paint, children can develop their imagination and abstract vision to some extent, as well as certain applied skills such as colour combination or working with paints. Secondly, drawing is a good way to tackle the stress that school can create. According to research, alternating between studying or memorizing and creative activities improves the process of learning and helps children to become well-rounded people. On the other hand, the opponents of this approach claim that art classes are a waste of time for the majority of schoolchildren. As a matter of fact, drawing is often perceived as a hobby and enjoyable pastime for some individuals, but not as a compulsory subject to be included in the curriculum. These people argue that most children are not inclined to draw, or paint and they do not have any innate talents for this. By being forced to do it, they may be discouraged from drawing in the future. In general, I agree with this position, as I think if a child is good at drawing or wants to try it, he or she can easily attend workshops or art classes which are widely available in most towns and cities. To summarize, even though drawing and painting can contribute to the development of children, especially those who are naturally creative, I believe that these lessons should not be a core part of the school curriculum as not every child will benefit from them.