You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Arguably, peasants are many times safeguarded by high taxes imposed by the local regime on farming goods coming from other nations. Personally, I strongly agree with the view since it is a way out to valorise the local products. Although the measure is public funds consuming. This essay will shed light on both sides of the view and provide evidence to prove the arguments. On the one hand, the high tariffs protect the local farming industry. In other words, the development glosses over from stacking foreign products on the shelves of the supermarkets at a low cost making the customers have the preference for what is produced locally. For instance, the cotton industry in Mozambique could have collapsed if the agricultural ministry have not increased the taxes from a metical per kilogram to almost 5 meticais per kilogram. As a result, the local farmers have their livelihood safeguarded and the local economy experienced steady growth. On the other hand, the high taxes applied in farming foods have a high bill to pay. Because of the need for compensation done by the government to avoid fluctuation of the prices internationally, this approach is a high financial resources squandering. For example, the Mozambique ruling power last year frittered roughly a million dollars in these sorts of payments. Hence, it undoubtedly affected the national budget and lead to public money dissipation. Furthermore, it is the overriding reason for other areas of national development discontentment like, education, medical, and security once they believe these amounts of resources could be used to ameliorate these fields. In conclusion, notwithstanding to be public investment squandering, each cabinet should bear the peasants costs owing to the fact that it is an outlet to put food on the table. Therefore I still strongly agree with the view.