Today more people travelling than ever before. Why is this so? What are the benefits of travelling to the traveller?

Travelling has always been an important part of life and there have been people such as Marco Polo who were willing to spend many years visiting other places. Nevertheless, there is more population now who become a fan of travelling for some reasons that have many advantages for travellers, including expansion of their perspective of life. One of the main reasons for the popularity of tourism is probably the advent of the internet which makes it possible to find out about different parts of the world. Some countries such as Laos, for example, may have been unknown to people far away in the USA until a few decades ago which hinder the number of tourists to rise. Another cause of this ascend would be the high standard of living in recent years that allows people to feed the tendency of exploring in human nature which was neglected before. In other words, there had not been enough time and facilities to travel a lot, even if an individual wanted to. However, travelling might be advantageous for individuals in different aspects of their personality. Firstly, the need for communication during the visit could lead a person to get acquainted with the local language of that nation which may result in more job opportunities in their home country. Travelling to South America such as Brazil, Peru and so on, might help a tourist to learn the basic level of Spanish, for instance, especially because in those countries, the majority would not able to speak English. Secondly, visiting different regions could not only help with the language but also with the knowledge of various cultures. This means having a trip to another place would result in more adaptivity and understanding of diversity in colour, religion and so on, which probably lead to a more peaceful society. To conclude, the tourism industry would not only be profitable for nations but also the tourists themselves, which are on board today, especially with the help of modern technology. The benefits for travellers are incompatible.