In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In most countries, people tend to think that having their own house is prestigious and worthwhile rather than renting an apartment. In my view, it is a positive trend and I am going to discuss a few points supporting this aspect. First and foremost, I think owning a house considers a prestigious commodity in some countries. Nonetheless, you can live your freedom, because mostly if we hire an apartment the landlord will try to control us regarding how we should use the appliances and how we should do the maintenance. For example, if we move from one to another, we have to spend time and bear the cost of renovation. Moreover, in some countries finding proper moving services are scarce. Because of that loading and unloading of furniture and other household appliances is crucial. Secondly, when we renting we have to sign an agreement with the landlord for a particular time period and after that, the owner might not agree to continue further. In that case, the tenant probably has to search for a new apartment which is extremely tedious. For example, nowadays most of the foreigners working in Singapore have to confront this situation. With the high demand, it is not so trivial to find an apartment with expected conditions and requirements since the houses rental fees are skyrocketing. To sum up, it is a great accomplishment owing a house even financially since ownership can save lots of money. In my opinion, owning a home is essential for a family who's planning to live long term with their parents and other close relations.