Some people say that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing are more beneficial to children and therefore they need more of these subjects to be included in the timetable

It is believed that subjects which require an imaginative mind such as the arts and creative writing provide discernable advantages to children. Thus, efforts should be made to add subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing into the curricula. In my opinion, I fully agree with this belief as such subjects provide many benefits to children. To begin with, arts in education has shown to have some therapeutic effects on children. In contrast to the monotony of classical subjects like maths, arts provide a stress free environment where children can freely explore or make their own works of art. Studies have shown that engaging in artistic activities also boost the self-image of children which is a key self-improvement aspect most school kids lack in the modern world. With this knowledge, some schools have started art programs to help students with emotional dysregulation such as the ERI K-2 classrooms in New Jersey, USA. Teachers here are licensed professionals who can guide children on how they can express their fears, anxiety, stress or any emotions on canvas or writing in a safe, controlled environment. Furthermore, involving children in the arts can educate them on their heritage and foreign cultures. Throughout history, the creative arts have played a crucial role in forming a shared cultural identity. Therefore, it is essential that children be exposed to the arts to fully understand their cultures and traditions. A project called ART4rom has been funded by the European Commission with the aim to educate school children on the history and cultures of Roma people in hopes for better inclusion of Roma people in EU societies. Arts is also prioritised in American schools through the No Child Left Behind Act passed in 2002. The act considers Arts a core subject in school throughout the United States due to tests showing improved academic results from students who took up arts in school. In conclusion, children can benefit greatly from the advantages creative art subjects bring. Therefore, schools should make an effort to expose children to arts as soon as possible by incorporating it into the current timetable.