Should criminals be punished with less jail terms or re-educated and rehabilitated using community service programs, before being re-introduced to the society.

No one is born as a criminal but circumstances and situation often make them culprit. Some segments of society reckon that offenders should be punished with a long-term jail; however, counterparts of society insist that they should get chance to learn skills through some rehabilitation programs. Although there are arguments on both sides, due to my own beliefs I agree that they should be trained rather than punishing them with lengthy jail. These beliefs will be discussed in support of my personal stance in the following paragraphs. To embark on, there is no doubt for some people who prefer to give strict punishments to lawbreakers because they believe that people can be made afraid of the law and thus, they might stay away to do some offensive activities. If the strict penalties have been implemented by the government, the crime rate also would be decreased. For example, an article published in ‘The Times’- stated that owing to increasing strict corrective measures in India, seventy per cent pf crime rate has been decreased. The stricter punishments, the lower the violation. Why they should be re-educated through community service programs? The underlying reason behind this is that some people persue wrong path due to lack of education and guidance. Most of the misconduct behavior have been seeing in the underprivilege society as they find difficulties to fulfill their daily necessaties so they robe some money. For instance, it has been seen that a person is stealing money just to get medicine for someone sick in the family otherwise he cannot afford it. Hence, If they get good training and education, they can get opportunities to present themselves as a good citizen. In conclusion, although offenders should get one chance to put their life back on the track, criminals who are doing frequent crime they should get strict punishments as they are dangerous for the world. That is why opine that the government should emphasize to re-educate people by giving the seminars and motivation speech.