You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Retirement homes are very known in Europe, and especially in Britain. Many elderlies choose to spend the last chapter of their lives with same-age peers. The luxury of those houses come at a great cost, since it involves, accommodation, nurses, food, and activities, which is quite high. Some argue that those fees should be covered by the government as part of the pension plan, while others believe that this treatment should be solely handled by the family. In this essay, I will analyze both perspectives, and emphasize the importance of having this service freely accessible to everyone, as part of paid taxes, and especially for modest families. Throughout their career, British citizens pay high taxes, covering health insurance, schooling, and pension. Certainly, retirement homes should be covered by those fees, as it is becoming a true necessity in today's world. The reason behind this is that most people are traveling outside their cities to seek better job opportunities. Unfortunately, this will leave the parents alone, with no one to care for. Thus, a retirement house would be the most suitable alternative. As a personal example, we are a small family of 4, Mom, Dad, my brother - who is living abroad, and I. A few years back, I have received an amazing job offer, and I had to travel to Luxembourg for 3 years. While discussing with my parents, they preferred to stay in a retirement home while I am abroad, so there is someone to take care of them. In the other hand, households that are most in need of this service are modest and poor ones. Why? simply because rich families can easily afford to get in-home nurses, and provide the essential care of elderly members. Therefore, taxation should take into consideration the annual income of a certain family, so less fortunate families should pay way less compared to others with a high wage. For instance, my aunt who is living in France is considerably rich, thus, her 2 daughters decided to keep her at home, and brought her all that is needed for a respected stay, such as a medical bed, a physical therapist, 3 nurses, and someone to read her stories from time to time. This is clearly the better choice when financials are at hand. To conclude, home retirements should be considered as a legitimate right for everyone, equally and freely accessible to all families, with no differentiation of their social level. But, the cost of this service should be settled through a well-thought taxation schema, where privileged families pay higher taxes than middle families.