School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Computers have become far too attached to the lives of students. The results are reading and writing skills have been affected by the advancement of technology. According to the previous statement, I definitely agree that the teacher should limit computer usage and start to return to the basic methods. The risk of reduction of children's cognitive and motoric abilities as well as the misuse of technology are the reasons why the limitation of computer usage should be limited. Firstly, the children's cognitive and motoric abilities might have been affected due to the electronics overusage. For example, in research from the University of Pennsylvania School of Education, individuals who have been using computers extensively since childhood are tended to have issues in their physical abilities. These are the results of development inhibition during their growth. Therefore, it is crucial that electronics exposure to classroom activities should be limited. Secondly, it is well known that despite technology could bring many advantages, there are also disadvantages as the result of misusage of it. For instance, students have the chance to access pornography in class and cheat during exams. The seamless internet access for the students is the main reason for internet misusage. Henceforth, necessary precautions are important for electronics usage in the classroom. To summarise, the negative effects of children's cognitive and motoric as well as technological misusage could threaten their reading and writing abilities. For that reason, it is important for teachers to limit the usage of computers. It is recommended not completely eliminate the technological usage but instead, limit the usage.