To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

With the world population is predicted to reach 9 billion people in 2050, producing adequate livestock represents a serious challenge in the future. While some believe the insect -based products may solve this issue as they do less harm to the environment, others say otherwise. They claim that insect -based foodinsect -based food is less hygiene and causes a negative effect on the environment. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this issue. Looking at the positives, insects can be consumed instantly by people and also extracted to obtain protein from it. The edible insect is readily consumable and contains high-quality protein. In order to extract the insect ’s protein, the insect must be decomposed first to absorb the amino acids. In recent research, the protein from insects is considered 6 times higher than the livestock. Moreover, the insect emits fewer greenhouse gases than those from conventional livestock. Therefore, insects are a potential source for conventional production for protein either direct or indirect human consumption. On the negative side, the food safety problem may arise for mass production of insect farms. Contamination with pathogens will require advanced hygienic farming. Also, proper labelling may require for those who have seafood allergic. The fact that Western consumers are hard to convince to eat insects is also can be a huge setback. Even if the food is environmental safe and nutritious, the emotional and psychological aspects need to be addressed. Lastly, the government legislation for further development has been lagged behind. In conclusion, the insect -based product provides an engaging future development as a new and sustainable food source. The amount and the quality of protein content from insects are beneficial, despite its human emotion and government regulation might still be a drawback for the mass production.