Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages or disadvantages of television for children.

Kids, particularly teenagers, are spending the majority of their leisure hours stuck to the TV-set, and it is becoming a topic of concern to their parents. While some families are trying to actively trying to engage them in after school activities such as painting, sports, music, others are simply confused to deal with the situation. Although, it may sound like an entirely gloomy scenario, there is also a bright side to watching different broadcasting channels. The essay will discuss the merits and demerits of television for children. The main advantage of TV is the range of resources it offers, and therefor one can not only be entertained but also gather information and knowledge at the same time. For instance, Discovery Channel can provide a lot of geographical wisdom to minors. Also, recently the newly released History channel serves a lot of insights into the early life of several civilizations, long-lost to mankind. Furthermore, many shows made on famous novels such as Harry Potter helps kinds to build a strong moral character. Hence, it could be observed that this technological device can significantly impact young people intricately. Despite interesting use, there are certain drawbacks to it. While engaging these youngsters into long indoor hours, they miss out the outdoor activities. Consequently, they have limited exercise and physical movement, which are essential to a healthy life-style. As a result, they might eventually develop illness. According to the recent survey of a school from 2010 to 2020, students who have hardly participated in physical training, these students have higher cholesterol levels than average child. To conclude, every technological equipment has its boons and curses. On one side one gets entertained and informed, but on the other side one may get addicted. It is therefore the duty of the elders to supervise their sons and daughters.