In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is on the rise and is affecting children's health, all around the world. It is believed by some that this issue should be tackled by the governments. I agree with this point of view as the government can not only spread awareness amongst its citizens but also develop infrastructure to keep children healthy. One main reason why I believe that health is also one of the responsibilities of governments is because of the impact they can have through awareness programs. Most of the time, parents are unaware of the harmful effects of their children being overweight and also are oblivious of the nutrition of the diets that they serve to their children. Kids are allowed to consume copious amounts of processed and high sugar food products by their guardians, for instance, resulting in a rapid weight gain. Thus, the State should educate the masses not only about the importance of good eating habits but also, the risk factors which follow obesity. Moreover, nations can build new public infrastructures such as parks and sporting facilities that will motivate children to do more physical activities. When there are not enough opportunities available to regularly exercise and play outdoor games, children are forced to sit inside their homes and lead a sedentary lifestyle. These new facilities can also be used to organize various tournaments and events that may possibly incentivize children to do regular physical activity. For example, monthly football tournaments will motivate the young to practice for the top positions and prizes and at the same time keep them healthy. The more physically active the kids are, the healthier they stay. In conclusion, I agree that the government has a big role to help maintain children's wellbeing and weight as they can educate the citizens as well as provide the new infrastructure which will help kids healthy.