Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticisms on their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Educational institutes are not only important for the theoretical knowledge that is taught in them but also for the overall development of cognitive and social skills of the students. Some believe that high schoolers should be allowed to cross-question and offer criticisms on their educators while others oppose this notion, as it might lead to poor discipline in schools. In this essay, I will discuss the merits of both sides of the argument and state my opinion about it. It is argued, that students should be encouraged to question and criticise what they are being taught as it will help them develop the skill of critical thinking. This will be beneficial to them as they will be able to use this skill to analyze various problems in life and also form their individual opinions. Critical thinking may also save them from misinformation, for example, when they come across some information or propaganda on the internet. Moreover, the habit of questioning will build curiosity in various subjects and may possibly lead to innovation. On the other hand, encouraging such behaviour may lead to these pupils becoming overconfident, resulting in loss of discipline as they might start disrespecting their teachers. They may criticize every statement and instruction given to them, which will lead to the teachers losing control of their classrooms. Additionally, students may lose their humbleness and become ruder. In conclusion, both sides have their own merits, but on balance, I feel it is important for students to question and offer productive criticisms as it will help them form personal opinions and also lead to innovative discoveries.