Study shows that many criminals have low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so they could get a good job once they are released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The crime rate is growing day by day and in order to reduce it, some people suggest creating facilities for inmates similar to those in higher education, which could help them to develop, the necessary skills to apply for a job after being cancelled from prison. I agree that the government should introduce special arrangements; however, they should not be treated for all as one. Indeed, giving education to inmates can be beneficial for the economy of the country. This means that after cancelling from prison former criminals would have a chance to work legally, as the result,they would have a steady job as well as pay monthly taxes. For example, in Norway, instead of having strict rules and disrespecting values, authorities created alternatives to work with criminals. They put them into rehabilitation courses, where they broaden their horizons, study subjects and most importantly build self-confidence. In other,words they help them to avoid reoffending crime. Without any doubt, such a system would teach them to live away from illegality. However, most incarcerated serve different sentences, meaning that the level of violence they have committed is also not identical. For instance, some have a big criminal record, including acts of terrorism or a dozen murders, while others are in prison by chance or petty crime. So, offering opportunities to get higher education to everyone in prison, would bring more dangerous consequences, as hardened criminals often tend to re-offend crime by being unwilling to be employed. In conclusion, although I agree that offenders should have chances to study while they are in prison, I believe that their background experience should also be into consideration.