People today can use the internet to learn about lives and cultures in other countries, so it is not necessary to travel anymore. Do you agree?

As the modernisation takes place in almost every aspect of our lives, technological development also spikes. One of the major advancements achieved by humans is internet. Information about almost everything and anything can be received on different websites. With the availability of data regarding lives and cultures from various parts of globe, some people think that travelling is not necessary anymore. I personally disagree with this statement and reasons are stated in forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, understanding a particular culture of a place requires experiencing it personally. As it is well, "Travelling is an investment to the soul." It nurtures one's spirit by enlightening the self towards different faces of the world. Humans are social animals. Travelling does not only gives us the opportunity to explore lives in various countries but also allows us to meet new people. This encourages the exchange of values and knowledge. Furthermore, travelling is an excellent means to take a mental and physical break from daily cliche routines On the other hand, reading some articles or watching travel blogs cannot give one the same value. An individual can only imagine what the information provider expresses. For example, some documentaries on the internet suggest that 'Switzerland is like heaven on earth'. The reader can only think of how beautiful the place is. But to visit it and soak its serenity might be a completely different experience. Moreover, the data present online cannot always be reliable. Most of them are published by unknown sources and might misguide about a particular culture. To summarise, internet is a phenomenal technology and one can enjoy its perks to learn about a destination. But it cannot replace the visual experience that one achieves by travelling to the same. Especially, if the goal is to connect with the lives and traditions of a country, travelling is the best and necessary option.