Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate involving whether people are more dependent on each other in the modern world. From my perspective, people become more independent than they used to be. On the one hand, people become more dependent on each other because of financial pressure. With the increase in the inflation rate, more young adults / graduates cannot afford their living costs by themselves. For example, a lot of young employees in Shanghai need to live with their parents because the local housing prices are incredibly high. Additionally, the current economic market is competitive, and it requires more than one person to operate a business. Therefore, collaboration among co-workers is essential for sharing ideas and achieving success, leading a tighter social bonds. However, I do not think people will always be dependent because the current troubles are temporary, and they can tackle these issues in the future. On the other hand, I do believe that the public become more independent because of the improvement of transportation and communication technology. With the development of technology, people are not restricted by distances, and they can choose better places to study and work. For example, I went to Canada for a better education, and the journey from China to Canada will only take thirteen hours due to the latest aeroplane technology. Furthermore, people do not need to collaborate with each other because of the development of the Internet. People can find any information online, and they no longer need to ask for advice in person. In conclusion, while people will be dependent on each other due to financial pressure and a competitive economic market, I believe that improvement in transportation and communication technology as well as the development of the Internet will cultivate an independent lifestyle for people.