New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, children spend their lone moments differently due to advancements in technology. Admittedly, while there may be some certain advantages of modern technologies, these pale to insignificance when compared with the disadvantages. This essay will elaborate on its merits and demerits. To begin, although new discoveries have helped better the lives of many individuals, it has done more harm than good to the majority of our youths. Social media addiction has skyrocketed in recent times owing to the fact that people carry their phones with them at all times and can easily access any social media platform they so desire. This has resulted in spending most of their time on social media chatting with strangers and having fewer moments with families. Also, the increase in the use of automobiles has raised the chances of road traffic accidents. To illustrate, according to the Nigerian journal of medicine, published in November 2021, it stated that the number of accident victims who were brought to the accident and emergency unit of various hospitals across the globe due to involvement in accidents is quite alarming. However, despite the negative impacts of technologies, it has made life easier as well as promoted longevity. This is because a lot of things people labour to do in the past can now be performed by machines. This has reduced stress levels among individuals and as well make them healthier. For instance, in the past, most laundry was done with bare hands and this has been replaced by a washing machine currently. In conclusion, due to technological advancements, minors now spend their spare moments differently. Though this development has its pros, I think that the cons preponderate.