In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true that recently more dwellers in various nations have decided to buy non-local food instead of its counterpart. This essay is devoted to analyzing the underlying roots, followed by equivalent remedies for this issue. Undoubtedly, the fact that people are importing food overseas can be explained by a few reasons. One of the chief roots associated with this issue is that food produced in other countries may have better quality. This is because in developed nations, more advanced technology and state-of-the-art machines are involved in the manufacturing of some food products. For example, Kobe beef in Japan is processed, packaged and pasteurized by top-notch machinery, resulting in the production of top-quality beef. Furthermore, inhabitants in some countries might have an appetite for exotic delicacies in other cultures. For example, settlers in the US often import Vietnamese Bun Cha, which is served with grilled meatballs made from pork and a harmonious combination of fish sauce. As the reasons to pin down why people tend to buy imported food are widely acknowledged, this issue may be tackled by several plausible tactics. One viable resolution for this problem is for the government to allocate more funds to the employment of cutting-edge technology. As a result, the quality as well as hygiene of food products might be enhanced, meaning that local people might take them into consideration. For example, implementing a pasteurizer may remove germs that carry severe diseases, running a lower risk of people contracting those diseases. Another feasible strategy would be for authorities to run campaigns in order to promote the indigenous cuisine of their country. Therefore, not only can that country’s specialties be more appealing to local consumers, but these delicacies might also have a chance to be exported to other nations, attracting foreign culinary-lovers. In conclusion, due to the exponential development of technology and cultural diversity, people have a tendency to purchase non-local products nowadays. Meanwhile, two resolutions for this issue are for the government to implement more advanced machines and to run campaigns to encourage citizens to buy more domestic food products. It is advisable that individuals should pay more attention to their countries’ local food to enrich their culture.