The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The private data of numerous individuals are under the control of big cyber companies nowadays. In my opinion, there are many demerits compared to merits. However, I also believe that data needs to be diversified quickly. Availability of the info is more crucial these days, as the world is becoming digitalised in coming years. This is possible mostly because of the companies holding the data online and maintaining servers all the time. For example, digital photos in the drive are at our fingertips. Moreover, the individual will have complete command of the account user. Ownership is the key. On the other side, huge organizations are selling this data to other organizations for money. In addition, the individuals are being targeted multiple times and are encouraged to spend more than what is expected. For example, the company knows when we shop, sleep, and search. Making it easy for them to target at the right time on any given day. Dependency on the companies is piling up making it hard for customers to move away. As many processes now are online the data needs to be stored in the cloud. In conclusion, even though there are many advantages to the large companies for holding personal data there are much more disadvantages of this effect. In my view, the disadvantages are more concerning than the former.