Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Improving the environment is as important as having next generation. We produce offspring to the world so that they continue the humanity while we show no love towards the so-called Mother-Earth. Taking care of the mother-nature, such as improving the environment, is neither just for one people nor a organization. Its a responsibilty for all man kind, individually. Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment cause only governments and large companies can make a difference. I partially agreed to this statement. One of the reason is that people tent to be selfish and stay in confort zone carelessly. There are a few number of people who actually care about the environment and started taking action example, by using reusable straws, paper bags, recycleable cans and bottles instead of plastic ones but majority of the people are still using plastic straws, bags, cans and bottles, hence there is little to no improvement in the environment. Thus governments including the large companies should stand by the minority. The question is " How?". The answer is learn from Singaporian. The way the governments encourage its people and the large companies to use eco-friendly products. Even if they wanted to use non-eco-friendly products, they couldn't due to the high taxes and an incredible large amount of fines. On the other hand, the large companies advertise people to use eco-friendly products by showing sea and land animals suffer from pollution. Due to sympathy, people started to use eco-friendly products in order to save animals and those who couldn't sympatise sympathize also started using eco-friendly products due to large amount of fines. In conclusion, to improve the environment not only peopel should do individually but also governements and large companies should invlove involved in it to be more effective and more successful.