Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

" Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference". My feeling towards this statement acts as a double-edged sword. On one side, with my personal thoughts, I strongly disagree with the statement but on the other, it might seem very logical that it is actually how this neoliberal world is running. My first reason to disagree with the following statement is that I strongly believe in the domino effect of the immensely small change that can lead to a massive big change. An individual's impact on the world is negligible as it is only one thing done by one person from the 6 billion other individuals existing on the planet that could be doing many other things and most probably, the majority of these 6 billion other individuals are harming the planet one way or another. On paper, the action of one person seems totally useless. However, this one person doing something positive is one person less doing something negative. This one person becomes the beacon of that positivity that the world needs. If that one individual's actions change the idea of two more individuals and if this changing of positive ideology runs for 10 cycles, we will have around 2000 individuals having a positive impact in the world which is about a small village walking towards the welfare of this planet. Furthermore, I was enlightened by the power of 1% from a book called "Atomic Habit". The book beautifully illustrated that 1% improvement every day for a year is an overall improvement of nearly 37% from the initial point. That's the power of an individual per cent that can lead to nearly halfway resolving an issue. Nonetheless, it is certain that our planet is deteriorating; from the ruins in the ocean spills to the devastating deforestation of lands. All these scars being inflicted on this planet is only due to a very narrow-minded thought process - to extract as much as resources possible in the short run while having faith that all the consequences will be handled in the future in the long run. Truth to be told, sometimes this faith doesn't exist. Large companies continue to dent the health of the planet for mere profits that could be gained. There are promises made, such as donations and plans to suture the damage, but it is all a front-cover to avoid tax and avoid a bad reputation towards the company. The true motivation towards the fixture should have been to save the environment. However, that very motivation is missing as it will cause a vast amount of money. Hence, it is in the hands of the individuals to bring an improvement to the environment. This will bring a small change but this small change can lead to a bigger change over time. In this neoliberal world, we all have our choices and hence, the government and big companies have chosen to make the greatest amount of money possible by choosing a path that is doing the least damage to the environment, ignoring that it is still harming the environment. If the government and large companies, changes their priorities to help the environment, there will be a big difference made in the improvement of the conditions in the environment. However, it is not the case and therefore, it is in the hands of the individuals to make the small changes, hoping it will be significant enough to bring a bigger change.