In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasing common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

The use of mobile phone to pay bills has significantly increased in majority of countries. There is a discussion whether this technology has benefits or drawbacks. In my opinion, it can be equally beneficial or harmful, depending on the situations. To mention the advantages, there is no doubt that the use of technology is essential in our daily lives. A clear example of this technology-based tool is mobile application, which are inevitably installed in our smartphones. By making use of these apps, we can easily pay different bills, such as phone, the Internet, gas, etc. Moreover, because the apps are more user-friendly, most people would like to work with those rather than paying cash instead. Hence, it is approximately impossible to pay for anything either online or offline without these apps. Having said that, using the apps has some disadvantages, which are sometimes out of control. The most important reason is that our information can be hacked by online hackers. These days, we often hear that online fraudulence has enourmously increased. For example, in the United States, it is reported that $5 billion has thieved annually by directing people to a phishing website. Hence, we need to be cautious while using these apps for online payments. To conclude, although the appearance of these applications is making our lives much easier than before, we need to be aware of the problems and consequences it might have.