The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made oversea travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays travelling plays an important part in our lives. Over the last 10 years charges for travel by air has been drastically reduced leading to rising in affordable and easy overseas travel. Low-cost air tickets would certainly encourage people to travel more causing economic growth in a country but there will be some serious implications on the environment. One evident benefit for affordable flight charges may raise tourism opportunities. Convenient and cheaper air travel brings numerous advantages. More and more people willingly travel to different places and countries in search of new experiences as well as for leisure. This significantly increases the country’s economic development. For instance, an average family of four, where the head of the household is ready to spend on air tickets to an international destination nowadays when comparing it to 10 years ago. Therefore, the lesser the cost of aviation, the higher the Opportunities for travel and tourism. On the other hand, the obvious disadvantage of air travel is the negative impaction on the environment. Frequent flying contraindicates the vision of reversing the effects of global warming. For instance, an aircraft consumes more petroleum than any other mode of transportation and also emits more carbon into the environment making it the leading cause behind global warming. Hence air travel directly impacts environmental health. In conclusion, while there are points to support the benefits of low-cost flying, too much will be lost as a result. Preventing and reducing the effects of global warming should be prioritised to conserve natural resources for future generations.