Influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of many species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest to protect endangered species and biodiversity?

People’s destructive influence on the earth’s ecosystem is exterminating many species and disrupting biodiversity. This essay will discuss two primary causes for this loss, and then put forward the solutions to this phenomenon. Two elementary factors contribute to the extinction of many species. The most prominent reason lies in habitat loss which is caused by deforestation, pollution, global warming and overpopulation. Take global warming as an example. Coral reefs which are biodiversity hotspots will face extinction if the current rate of global warming continues. Overexploitation of natural resources is another cause of this loss. When human activity, pertaining to harvesting and capturing, such as farming, hunting and fishing, is excessively intense in a particular region, resources become exhausted. For instance, many medicinally important plants like Aconitum sp., Drosera sp., Dioscorea deltoidea etc. are disappearing rapidly due to the consequence of merciless over-collection. However, protecting the natural habitat of wildlife and raising public awareness can be two great solutions. Entire communities of flora and fauna can be saved by protecting their habitats. That is to say that wildlife should have places for shelter, food and reproduction that are untouched by humans. Similarly, public awareness also prevents biodiversity loss. A big part of the endangered species extinction is caused because people very often are unaware of the abolition of many animals and plants. People’s attitudes should be changed to forge a compromise with their consumption behaviour to protect animals and plants. For example, we should not buy products that have anything to do with endangered species. To conclude, an increasing number of species is doomed to extinction because of human intervention. Therefore, we have to protect wildlife habitats and change our attitude to reverse the trend.