Climate change is one of the biggest environmental problems of the 21st century. Some people think that humans should stop using oil, gas and coal and switch to alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others claim that fossil fuels are essential for many industries, and not using them will result in economic recession. What is your opinion? Support your point of view with relevant examples. Write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that fossil fuels are essential for economic development even though they are highly polluting, while others believe that alternative sources of energy should completely replace oil, coal and natural gas. In my opinion, it is time to adopt cleaner fuels in the interest of the whole world. First of all, pollution caused by fossil fuels is not only destroying our environment but also causing great damage to our health. It is proven that air pollution causes life-taking diseases such as asthma and cancer. Under these circumstances, using clean energy is a necessity, rather than a choice. Moreover, phenomena like global warming and climate change are no longer in the distant future. The effects of these changes are visible even now. For example, studies show that the recent storms that ravaged Europe are a direct result of climate change. Secondly, alternative sources of energy can be made economically viable in the long run. To begin with, the exploitation of such energies will give rise to new industries. This, in turn, will result in more employment opportunities. Furthermore, new research can help in making these energies more efficient so that they can be used in traditional industries. For instance, in countries like Germany and the Netherlands, wind power is extensively used by households and the manufacturing industry. Thus, with time, renewable fuels can contribute to the development of the economy. To conclude, I think that the world should try to stop using fossil fuels, and we should start using alternative energy sources. This is because a healthy environment is of the utmost importance to our future, and cleaner fuels can be made economically viable in the long run.