Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

Nowadays, working overtime than standard hours of work has become popular. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend and relevant consequences affecting overworked people. It is obvious that there are various reasons to explain why people are working more than before. In the age of competition, individuals are striving1 for a raise or promotion, which will improve the quality of their life. The evidence is that people tried to meet the manager’s expectations and finish the workload for the day, so they have poured more time than previous to get their goal as quickly as possible. Should they not work overtime, they might face financial problems, because living standards are increasing day-to-day. Therefore, people who earn a high salary are more likely to provide quality education, healthcare, or other essential facilities to their families. In spite of some positive points given about, devoting time to work also has an adverse impact on employees’ health and family relationships. To begin with, people who work longer hours are able to suffer from various health issues such as stress, anxiety disorders. This lead to making more errors and impact progress operation in their workplace. Besides that, relationships among their parents, spouse, relatives gradually decrease. In fact, they spend most of their day working instead of taking care of family, therefore, they lack harmony and a warm atmosphere in their life. In conclusion, working longer time are becoming a trend today, I understand that people try their best to have a better life. However, people should control their working time to healthy work -life balance effectively.