Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed by some people that museums and art galleries would not be required as historical objects and art works can be viewed with the aid of a computer. I strongly disagree with this statement because museums and art galleries have a significant role in the education system and they also provide information about culture and history in a more sophisticated way than computer does. In the following paragraphs, I will exemplify my viewpoints. Museums are heritage of any nation as they represents the different cultural aspects and reveals history. One can understand the advancement of culture and changes occured overtime by visiting a museum, also the old art work reveals that what kind of ideology took place in the ancient civilization and what resources were used to make them. For instance, an individual gets information about the weapons used in the old times in wars. Also, one can learn about the lifestyle of people in ancient time by looking at the different kinds of things which have been preserved, like attire and many household things. It not only enhance the knowledge of an individual about the particular civilization but also helps in doing research on it. On the contrary, it is undeniable that computer also gives the information about art work and historical objects, but then it would be only on the screen and more about theory. With the help of computer and internet; one can access this knowledge from any part of the world. It is unlikely to get the practical experience of all those art work and objects which have been found in the museums. Furthermore, visualisation has an imperative role on memory, one can learn and memorize the things in a better way by looking at the real object rather than looking at its image. To elucidate, many scholars learn about history and art via computer but those who visit the museums will be able to comprehend it in a far better way. Computer can sometimes present many images of the single thing which is quiet confusing as it depicts the information which have been uploaded on the internet by people. Moreover, the piece of information which has not been uploaded would not get acknowledged by the reader. Thus, it results in gap in the knowledge. To conclude, computer is a good source of learning historical objects and art work but museums has its own importance to illuminate this knowledge in a better way. Additionally, museums provide the practical experience.