Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

These days there is a growing social debate regarding the best setting to teach children being valuable individuals of the social life. In fact, opinions on this issue divided between those who think that family is the most suitable place to teach those manners, while others insist that the educational system is the best place to achieve this goal. On one hand, every child learning the basics of life at home from his parents within the family and learning about being a good member of the society isn’t different. For example, In Saudi Arabia Children does not attend kindergartens or schools at all until the age of six and learn everything they need to know at home. As a result, adults in Saudi Arabia are polite, have good manners, well-educated and the statistics of crime within the Arabian kingdom are very low. On the other hand, schools can be considered as the perfect emulator of the adult social life where kids have the chance to learn and train their social skills. For example, a child taking away from his classmate a pen or a book without permission and receiving a negative reaction learning very important lesson for his adulthood. In fact, schools giving to kids the ability to live through many social situations and understand them and their consequences for their lives. In conclusion, both parents and schools playing an important role in education of social skills among kids. In my opinion, the most effective way to raise good members of the society is to keep the balance between school and parents with the understanding that each side has his irreplicable contribution to children’s development as good members of the society.