Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether having friends who usually share the same ideas with us or befriending someone who dares to challenge us is often debatable. I personally think it is better to be friends with someone, who does not always agree with you. Both sides of the view will be discussed in the following essay. On one hand, people would like to make friends with others, who usually share similar thoughts with them. With similar views, people can avoid many unnecessary disputes and quarrels. Communication is an essential part of friendship. Having the same viewpoints, this can enable people to discuss in harmony since they will not fight against each other due to disagreements. Thus, a closer friendship can be developed because people have a deeper connection based on having similar values. On the other hand, there are also some advantages when people make friends with others, who sometimes hold a different view as them. Firstly, having disagreements does not mean they are from different planets and therefore cannot talk with each other in a nice way. We sometimes need a second opinion when we are making an important decision and a friend with a different viewpoint is helpful in this situation. We are now able to think in a different way and hence get a fuller picture of how the decision should be made. Imagine if we only make friends with people who share the same opinions as us, we will be just like clones and discussions that help us to make choices will be useless. In summary, I think we should have friends who do not always agree with us as the differences between our views can help us be a better person and see the world in a more wholesome way.