In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

For the majority of countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or even longer during the summer holidays. I'll explain that there are huge benefits to resting longer during the holidays. Also, there are some arguments in favour of shortening the number of days. First of all, I agree with the statement that young students and adults should rest during the summer break. Because students tend to get sick in the winter due to the cold. So, giving them a longer break has advantages: it replenishes their energy and supports their immune health. For instance, students often catch a cold because of the harsh winter. Thus, parents rest in the countryside with their children to elevate their children's height and boost their immunity during the summer break. Second of all, teenagers like the idea of working as part-timers, usually at ages 15-18. Moreover, they can feel how hard it is to earn money. So, longer holidays give them time to work, similar to their parents, and grow their knowledge of finances, even in a small amount of time. Also, they can spend their earned money on something efficient. On the other hand, giving shorter school holidays also has some advantages. Some students often forget their hard-earned knowledge in a short time. So, they need to review their lessons as soon as possible. Another aspect is that they spend their precious time on unnecessary things, such as watching K-dramas and playing games. They are usually like owls, who do not sleep at night. Furthermore, their sleep schedules are disrupted by online platforms. So, it is better to reduce the summer holiday. In conclusion, students enhance their immune function by resting in the countryside in the summer. Because they get sick in the winter. In addition, it is a better opportunity to work as a part-timer to learn the value of money. In contrast, some children spend their time playing games and disrupt their sleep. So, some people argued that the summer break should be shorter than now.