Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A number of people decide to be freelance workers instead of working for an agency or an office these days. The major reason for this situation is the flexibility of time. However, there are drawbacks to the management of workload alone. To begin with, the reason for self-employment is that the time is flexible. Working alone can relieve those who used to be employees from the stress and pressure of the workplace’s environment. For example, starting time and quitting time of the work is up to the freelancer, which they can choose a part of the day that generates productivity the most. Therefore, the output of the work tends to be more significant if the worker puts all effort into it in the right mood. On the other hand, there are several issues that can occur when getting a job as a freelance. First, the freelancer cannot be encouraged or motivated to get things done by other co-workers and this would lead to the delay of workloads. In other words, the one that the self-employee can depend on is themselves since there is no one to communicate with. Thus, self-employees need to be more independent than other employees. In conclusion, the majority of people refuse to work for corporations at this moment. The main reason is that self-employment is way more relaxing than working with colleagues which can reduce stress and pressure. Even though, the delay of work’s deadline can occur without encouragement from co-workers. Furthermore, there is no one to rely on in case they are working alone.