Some people believe that if police force carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every nation has a police force to regulate laws and rules. But unfortunately, people think that carrying a gun by police increases violence in a city. I'm afraid I have to disagree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, I give my views for justification. My first point to support my opinion is that police need a gun for public safety. For example, suppose someone has the attention to commit a crime. In that case, criminals should fear police officers because they have a gun in their pocket. Secondly, criminals usually have guns, so police officers need guns to control crime. In an emergency, if police officers see a crime happen, then having a gun with them is helpful to stop a violent act. Finally, instead of taking a gun from the police, the government should make strict laws against the general public having a firearm. Many countries face violent acts daily because they do not have complex rules for having a gun. For example, in recent news of America, a man fires a gunshot in a school. All this happens because the officials permit a gun's license most easily. However, the police department gives proper training to officers in which situation they should take out their weapons and whom to shoot. To conclude, armed police could never be a cause of increased violence. Besides this, criminals develop a gun and create violence in society.