Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other counties have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation plays a vital role in today's scenario as it is encouraging different nations to work closely with each other and unite in a very beautiful way. However, this essay will talk about the pros and cons of such activity and would explain how its drawbacks are more than the benefits for the consumer country. To begin with, international trade is having certain benefits as it is meeting the requirements of both the nations who are involved in such a process. Seller country is having the benefit of getting foreign exchange while buyer nation will be able to meet their demand of certain goods which are used on daily basis by its residents. Another benefit for seller country is that with the help of international trade there is an increase in the employment opportunities for the people and it helps in raising their standard of living. However, as goods are delivered to the importing country through transportation which includes its cost along with that certain other expenses that automatically makes products expensive. For example, if soap is imported from a foreign country via ship then it includes the transportation cost of the ship and the excise duty at the port as well. In order to avoid such kind of expense, self production concept must be adopted by the country. To recapitulate, benefits lie only with the seller country like employment opportunities, incoming of foreign exchange and disadvantages are associated with buyers like outgoing of their currency, getting cheap products at a higher rate. Benefits are outweighing the drawbacks in the case of the seller country and vice-versa.