In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Kids are raised in different styles in different countries. Yet, one of the most similar raising behaviours is telling children that they can get success in any subject if they work hard for it. This behaviour may cause some results in good terms and bad terms. As regards good ones, children may learn not to give up in any sort of challenging situation while they try to achieve anything. However, they may also lose their confidence due to getting no success from time to time, even though they try hard. In daily life, many people have to face to face with lots of tough situations while they try to achieve their goals in their jobs or social lives. While some people prefer to fight in order to overcome the problematic situation, others may prefer to run away and do nothing about it. According to research, these two reactions are relevant to the raising styles of these people. A recent study showed that children who grew up in an encouraging environment where they have been told that they can achieve anything if they work hard for it, have more courage while they have to deal with a tough position and try to achieve their aims. On the contrary, children who had been raised in an opposite environment than the encouraging one, have more tendency to give up easily in any sort of problematic situation. However, overdose encouraging may have some negative results. Children might start to believe that they can reach any sort of aim if they try hard. Sadly, sometimes these efforts are not enough to achieve their targets even though they do their best. Moreover, there may some other conditions which are not relative to work hard such as network or economic situations. As a result, when they become adults and don’t achieve what they want, they may lose their confidence and stop working for it at all. In conclusion, children should be raised in an environment where told they can achieve their aims usually if they work hard, yet sometimes this might not be the result and they have to learn to move on with their lives without losing their confidence.