It is often cited that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. According to many, we learn most of the things from our own experience while others believe that books are our main source of knowledge. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Most of the time, reading books is said to be a powerful tool to obtain knowledge. It is said to be one of the things to improve one's vocabulary and gain certain knowledge. While some agree that life's understanding is obtained from our everyday life experiences. Does it really matter how much comprehension we acquire from books or from our everyday encounters? To begin with, I, myself am fond of reading self-improvement, life -changing and life experiences books. Before, I believed that books contain lessons that we can impart in our own lives. There are some books that offer us content which we can use in our day to day lives, and there are books we can learn so much about. But things we read from books are sometimes not enough to argue our own perception of life. For instance, I had read a book about home-cooking, they tackled about the things which people need to use or do when cooking, in order to have a perfect dish. However, as I experienced while cooking, not all the specific instructions or ingredients are needed to have a perfect outcome. Moreover, that book only told the readers the things that must be done. But how about if things go wrong?. Sometimes books do not actually tell us what to do if things get wrong. On the other hand, matters that are being acquired through experience is different. Our life experiences taught us how to troubleshoot things that had gone wrong. In our everyday life, we tend to learn different approaches to every kind of situation. Consequently, we people somehow know how to react in a certain situation because of the things we learned from our past. For example, as I mentioned above, in cooking a dish if the food does not taste that great, we could fix the problem by asking others or remembering our previous experience with that dish. we could add ingredients specifically the things that are not mentioned in the book to make it delicious. Furthermore, life experiences are important for individuals to grow because not all books provide information in everything. In conclusion, books are fundamental equipment in our learning. But our everyday hurdles and encounters are the main reasons for what we are today. A book cannot be corrected or we sometimes need the effort to argue the book. As for our daily encounters, our experiences and how we meet the ends of everything is learned or gained from our daily struggles and success.