In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Humankind is in a midst of a fat crisis, in other words, the obesity epidemic. In numerous developed countries, mostly, kids have been putting on weight which is extremely harmful to their health. Some individuals presume that government has a significant role to tackle the situation. I completely agree with the statement and I will list some reasons to support my position. First, more and more children are seriously overweight which causes such health-related issues as heart disease, two types of diabetes, cancer and hypertension. Children eat too much junk food and drink sugar-sweetened beverages because they live in a food swamp. And if people have already had this problem that simply means parents cannot rely on personal responsibility. For instance, the food industry pays retailers to place the products in a prominent location so everyone cannot ignore it. The government must create new law restrictions against fast-food advertisers to prevent their further actions. Secondly, restaurants and supermarkets sell people more calories than they can burn. Younger members of society and their parents need to be informed and trained. One of the vital duties of the country is to train the community to eat less and exercise more. Take a daily workout as an example, exercise burns calories and helps to build healthy bones and muscles. This can be promoted by adding more time for sports on school timetables. To conclude, the government should resolve this problem by creating conditions to succeed in public health. I strongly believe authorities can essentially reduce the rate of obesity.