Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In today’s highly developed society, illiteracy is becoming controversial issue. This essay will discuss two leading causes of ignorance and its several effects on both individual and community. Probably the main origin is the overwhelming costs of education that people on low-income could not afford. In other words, the poor people barely afford the food, clothes and shelter, which automatically takes education out of the equation. For instance, there are numerous cases where children from underprivileged households, are sent to work in farms or factories, instead of attending school in order to support their family. Another factor is that nowadays contemporary technologies have relieved mankind from concerning about grammar. It is not necessary anymore to learn hard grammar; Individuals are relying on artificial intelligence which checking word spelling, punctuation, and sentence collocation because they think that machines cannot be mistaken. Ignorance can have grave consequences on the population and the nation as a whole. Firstly, illiterate people have some difficulty in obtaining new skills and learning, understanding the basic structure. It seems that lower-quality jobs can be found illiterate people. Otherwise, as the illiterate population increase, the competent workforce will be dwindled gradually. If the nation of a country is uneducated all social aspects would be tackled included economic decline. Lastly, without sufficient effort in studying, illiteracy would simply affect human's reverse evolution. In conclusion, nowadays many nations are in trouble with ignorance that causes school quitting and rapidly developing devices. It is logical to conclude that illiteracy has negative effects on a noticeable low country position in comparison with others, moreover, the degradation of mankind perhaps inevitably.