All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

In recent years, an increasing number of parents are aspiring their child to learn a foreign language, especially at the start of school. Personally, I feel that gaining knowledge of second language at early age have number of benefits for them. Firstly, primary school’s bilingual pupils tend to have as well as improved memory, concentration, and mental flexibility. In other words, obviously young children pick up languages more easily than teenagers. Because their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue which also facilitates learning another language. Secondly, acquiring foreign languages can also help them to understand other cultures. If they are native-like speakers, they would understand foreign ideas and concepts which makes them more access to diverse cultures and international experiences from early stage of their life. Lastly, the cognitive benefits of learning a language have a direct impact on a child’s academic achievements. Bilingual children have improved reading, writing skills and they generally score higher on a standardized test. The future is more granted that they may have more access to global employment; a wider variety of available positions. Some people argue that teaching children a second language at an early age might affect badly mother tongue. It results in they might be mixing languages and worsen reading, writing skills. However, children might get confused initially, but they overcome. In conclusion, young children at the early stage in educational institutions should be allowed to learn different languages which they choose. There are many advantages to children.