‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning another language is worthwhile at any age; however, kids could benefit from acquiring additional language at a particularly young age. On the other hand, those who opposed this approach underestimate the significance of gaining knowledge of a foreign language as pupils start schools. I agree that learning a new language promotes children’s development, and the various cognitive and social advantages would remain in a lifetime. Firstly, learning a new language can come along with cognitive benefits to the learner. Researchers identified that the brain possibly forms new neural connections and pathways to assimilate new facts whilst children studying a new language. Furthermore, the new symbols, new tones, and nuances of meaning have intellectual activity for the mind; train our brain to grow the learning capacity. That is to say that the greater a part of our brain is involved in learning, the longer the learning is retained and the more the cognition is taught to apply the new information. It would improve the ability of students in studying academic subjects. Learning another language also helps to nurture children’s cultural sensitivity, awareness, and empathy. Students who are exposed early to different languages show more positive attitudes to the cultures related to those languages. The insight of gaining knowledge of a language could introduce them to the world in ways they might otherwise have not experienced. Though, others argue that learning a foreign language might delay the development of the children’s mother tongue. Learning a new language at an early age could cause distraction between their native and second language. However, scientists seem to demonstrate that learning a foreign language at primary school is more beneficial than disadvantageous. In a nutshell, I would like to conclude that learning a foreign language could bring a lot of benefits to students, which are the cognitive and societal benefits.