Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate on how to deal with perpetrators. While some claim that putting offenders behind bars brings a tremendous impact on them, the opposite makes a statement that schooling and training are better method. The former is valid to some extent but I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Education and training play a paramount significant role in coping with law-breakers. The reason why people break the law is they aren’t aware of their action’s severe consequences so the government should provide education to help them perceive the wrong and think over it before taking action. Moreover, vocational training enables offenders to produce income and prevent them from becoming a burden to society. For instance, Viet Nam’s prison teaches law-breakers about tailoring, breeding castles so they are capable of earning a living. As a result, education and training bring a favourable influence on solving criminals. While the redeeming feature of education and training is widely acknowledged, sending criminals to jail is an essential way for some special criminals. Regarding habitual offenders who commit crimes repeatedly and show little respect for the legal system, they should be locked up in a confined space in order not to contaminate ordinary people. White-collar offenders can be cited as an example because they often use their minds to cheat and deceive the market. Hence, it is imperative to send perpetrators to jail. To sum up, although education and training bring desirable effects, the government should keep some criminals contained to protect innocent people.