Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Most medical recommendations for elderly persons propose a daily physical activity, but only a few per cent follow these guides. I think that with ageing, there are also some difficulties in developing motivation for coming out of one’s comfort zone. So, let’s try to find encouraging ways to increase the ratio of active participants. Firstly, to do recommended exercises it’s required to win against all internal laziness and muscle inertia externally. But as it’s well known, once the first step on this path of muscle training is done, then it will be easier to repeat success. Also, sometimes older people just do not believe that any exercise could help them to feel better. This, for sure, raises a barrier in practice routine and affects motivation but could be solved with some inspirational influence. Basically, to believe in the result and start doing exercise, it usually needs a small illustration or example. Thus, we can conclude on the basis of this analysis that self-motivation usually is not strong enough for most people and some external encouragement is required. Furthermore, it will be more productive to organise groups to motivate each other or even dedicate personal trainers. But, alternatively and with fewer resources it is possible to use virtual trainers like subscribable bots, as a separate program for mobile devices or additional services on social networks. More than that, combining electronic trainers with training groups could lead to sharing achievements and results via some kind of leaderboards and provide a multiplied involvement effect. To summarise, I can state that recommendations from doctors may be somehow attractive but are not mandatory so could be ignored for a lot of reasons. This way, to make recommended physical activity inspirational, there should be an external motivator added with examples, graphs, triggering events and social elements.