Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Human beings spend approximately 4 or 5 hours daily surfing various social media. So it broadens the opportunities such as contacting people around the world and spreading recent news happening every second. However, the demerits can be found in social media, which could overshadow the merits. Firstly, the main option of social media is to link people over long distances. So while networking people are able to talk with each other and could be informed about the events happening in their life. For example, the crowd who living in Europe could contact the people living in Asia just by typing or skyping. Secondly, social media gives them access to enormous news sources. As a result, a society with the help of social media learns any kind of news in seconds. On the other side, using social media in an adversely harmful way is quite probable. One of the cons could be the fact that the youngsters are exposed to psychological violence every day. Many proofs can be found that via social media the terrorist organizations propagandize their own ideology in order to attract more supporters and attention. Moreover, spending most of the time on Instagram or Facebook might lead to stress or mental trauma as at any time people could come across content containing material of an offensive or sexual nature. Thus, social media could harm people in many ways. To conclude, even social media have undeniable pros, the possibility to get more negative drawbacks is highly, consequently, the cons outweigh the pros. So, the government should take social media under control and ban the owners of any type of negative material