It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

During recent years taking one year break before academy becoming extremely popular among high school graduates. There are clear benefits in this approach and some drawbacks that should be taken in mind, as well. In this essay we will examine the pros and cons of this trend. Taking a one-year break before the university is a great chance to widen your world of knowledge and interest. For example, in Israel it is very popular that youngsters after graduation going to a long trip abroad, usually to Asia or South America. In many cases, those trips hold an unreturnable chance to choose future profession or a sphere of interest and upon return enroll to the degree that they really want to study. On the other hand, creating an annual gap between school and academy means that the student will enter to the labor market later, with less experience. In the United States, the recent trend in the labor market is filling positions with university graduates with work experience. It means that if a person wants to get the best chance in his future career he has to start study as soon as possible, getting possible work experience through his academy years and not wasting any time at all. To conclude, twelve months break before enrolling to the academy is a magnificent chance to widen your knowledge and establish your career aspirations but it is also a precious time that can be easily lost in getting the best work experience and achievements in the labor market.