In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children's obesity has become a major issue affecting countries worldwide, some are of the opinion that this issue is the government responsibility to sort it out. In this, essay I will be discussing why I believe that in order to solve this problem both governments and parents should take responsibility. To begin with, the cardinal reason why child obesity is on the rise is the fact that most of them have a sedentary lifestyle with little or no physical activity. Therefore, governments can introduce mandatory sports classes in the school curriculum where there are graduates for passing or failing. Moreover, banning or at least limiting fast food advertising so children will be less tempted to order or eat these types of food. Also by launching an awareness campaign that highlights the danger of junk food and the consequences that come from consuming too much of it. In 2018 The Norwegian government banned the advertisement of fast food on daytime television which led to a decline in childhood obesity numbers. However, we can not ignore the pivotal role that parents play in this problem. First and foremost by making healthy food choices parents are guiding their children to adopt a healthy lifestyle that will help them avoid obesity that leads to numerous diseases. Furthermore, encourage them to pick up an extracurricular activity after school such as playing basketball. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that children that practice sport after school are less subjected to becoming overweight. In conclusion, both governments and children's parents should join forces to tackle this issue. Governments by making regulations and parents by illustrating health habits in children's daily lives.