The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what are the possible solutions?

The way in which information is circulated has been completely transformed by the internet but this has also created issues we never had before. However, several solutions that we can adopt to remedy the situation will be outlined in this essay. The proliferation of the internet brings in its wake problems in the form of çyberbullying and manipulation. With regard to the former, social media can be used to spread lies and rumors to thousands of people in an instant, and the invasive nature of this type of bullying means that there is simply no way for the victim to escape it. In addition, there is hardly any regulation on what type of information can be put on the internet, which means that malicious people can use it to their advantage. This can be seen in the way the Trump administration won the US presidential election, in large part, by running ads on social media like Facebook. To address these problems they should be, first and foremost, brought to the fore. This can be done by mounting awareness campaigns about the problems associated with using the internet, especially cyberbullying. Celebrities who are trusted by the public can also help spread the message on their platform, for example by talking about what psychological distress a bullied person may have to endure. The problem of manipulation seems difficult to tackle because introducing legislation to check the content of say social media posts and adverts is in itself a form of manipulation as deciding what is illegal is almost entirely subjective and tantamount to taking away the freedom of speech. In conclusion, the fact that we now consume and share information almost exclusively on the internet has led to an increase in the number of incidents of cyberbullying and manipulation, and a viable measure would he in awareness* raising campaigns However, it is decidedly difficult to address these conundrums holistically.