Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that a school is a place where people can obtain an education to behave a better life in the future. That is why for some people, the major goal of the school is to make children good dwellers and workers, while some others think it aims to benefit children as individuals. I totally agree with this statement. This essay will discuss why I support it. Firstly, it is really important to set a goal of the school to make young generations educated to support a living piece in the neighbourhood. In school, children are normally taught how to behave and how to be nice to one another. By having trained on how to behave, children tend to grow to be good people in the future. For instance, in Japan, young children are taught how to say sorry if they want to pass by in front of the older ones. Secondly, though others might argue that school should prepare more children to benefit for themselves as individuals, this leads them to be selfish children when they grow up. If children should be taught how to develop themselves since they are at school, it is likely to give them a bad mindset that will affect their overconfidence in themselves. For Instance, in the USA, children are not really guided to be working with other people in a group, as a result, they find it hard to socialise with others in their future life. To summarize, it is argued that a school should set the main goal to make children good people by being able to work together with peers. Therefore, this will benefit society as a whole to live a piece life. It is predicted that if the school can implement the role discussed above, people will live in peace.