People buy good products that work, therefore, advertising is unnecessary and is no more than a form of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Determining the impact of advertisement is an ongoing debate among customers. Some people advocate the idea that advertising is just entertainment because people buy good and useful products. On the other hand, others argue that advertising is still useful to persuade people to buy products. I completely disagree with the notion because advertisements can help the public to know about good products. First, there is no doubt that consumers always try to find good products. However, people may not find products that they want to use, even though several companies have already developed and fabricated the goods that users want. Advertisement will be useful in that case because it can deliver some information about good products to buyers. Therefore, conducting advertisements plays a crucial role in helping purchasers choose good items. Second, many businesses pour tremendous money into developing good products. For example, one popular smartphone company, Apple, spent almost 150 million dollars to develop their first smartphone. Therefore, they should sell at least millions of smartphones to avoid loss. In that case, companies can introduce items to the public and earn a higher profit with several promotional commercial methods. Consequently, businesses need to use commercial methods to promote sales and avoid loss. To sum up, advertising is not just a form of entertainment, but also an effective promotion method today. Advertisements not only can deliver information of good items to consumers who find good products, but are also a useful method to gain higher profit to avoid loss from investments of products.